TORC Steering Committee

Steering Committee L-R: John McNeil, David Irving, Louise Phillips, Peter Cameron, Zoe McQuilten, Merrole Cole-Sinclair, Erica Wood

Dr Merrole Cole-Sinclair BSc (Hons), MBBS, FRCPA, FRACP
St Vincent’s Hospital
Dr Cole-Sinclair is a Consultant Haematologist in the Haematology Department at St Vincent’s Hospital in Melbourne and Chair of the St Vincent’s Hospital Transfusion Committee, and the Transfusion Outcomes Research Collaborative Steering Committee. She has a special interest in clinical quality improvement, patient safety & clinical transfusion. Merrole is currently Chief Examiner in Haematology for the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia & co-chair of the Joint Specialist Advisory Committee on Haematology [RACP/RCPA].

Professor Peter Cameron MBBS, MD, FACEM
Head, Critical Care Unit, DEPM
Professor Cameron is head of the Critical Care Unit within the Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine.  He is also Academic Director of the Emergency and Trauma Centre, The Alfred Hospital, Head of the Victorian State Trauma Registry and Associate Director of the National Trauma Research Institute.  His main research interests include trauma epidemiology, injury prevention and management, prehospital care and health services and systems research.  He is a past president of the Australasian College of Emergency Medicine (ACEM), co-editor of the Adult Textbook of Emergency Medicine and a senior examiner for ACEM.  Peter completed his medical undergraduate training at Melbourne University in 1981 and fellowship training in Emergency Medicine at Western Hospital, Melbourne 1987. An MD in Trauma Epidemiology was completed through Monash University in 1997.

Dr Zoe McQuilten MBBS BMedSci
Clinical Research Fellow, Australian Red Cross Blood Service, Haematologist, PhD Student Monash University
Zoe is a Clinical Research Fellow with the Blood Service and a PhD student at DEPM. She is supervised by Dr Louise Phillips, Dr Erica Wood and Professor Peter Cameron. Zoe completed her medical undergraduate training at Monash University in 2000 and fellowship training in Haematology in 2010. Her research focus includes transfusion medicine, general haematology and epidemiology. Zoe’s PhD thesis aims to provide evidence to inform transfusion practice in clinical areas where blood product use is significant and there is uncertainty about the influence of transfusion on outcome, through the linkage of existing data sources which contain information either on patient outcomes or transfusion practice.

Professor John McNeil AM MBBS, MSc, PhD, FRACP, FAFPHM
Head of Department, DEPM
 Professor McNeil has been the head of DEPM since 1986 and is now also Head of the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine based at the Alfred Hospital in Prahran.  His research background is in epidemiology and clinical pharmacology.  John is currently a member of the Boards of the Colonial Foundation, the International Society of Cardiovascular Pharmacotherapy and Austin Health, Melbourne. He is a previous member of the Boards of Alfred Health, the Metropolitan Ambulance Service, Water Quality Research Australia and the Victorian Public Health Research and Education Foundation.  John has been a member of ministerial committees reporting on renal failure services, organ transplantation and medical staff salaries.  He also serves on scientific committees for the Australian Red Cross Blood Transfusion Service, the National Blood Authority, the Therapeutics Goods Administration and the Australian Commission for Safety & Quality in Healthcare.  He is a member of the executive of the Monash Faculty of Medicine, Nursing & Health Sciences.  Professor McNeil has served on the senior medical staff of the Austin and Alfred Hospitals and the Monash Medical Centre.  In 2008 he was awarded an AM (Member of the Order of Australia) for services to Public Health.

Dr Louise Phillips BSc (Hons) PhD MPH
Head, Transfusion Research Unit, DEPM
 Louise has been a member of DEPM since 2004 and was appointed head of the Transfusion Research Unit in December 2009. She was responsible for the establishment and management of the Haemostasis Registry from its inception in 2005. She currently manages all TORC projects including the TRIO partnership grant and is involved in other related projects in the Department.  Louise completed a Bachelor of Science degree from Victoria University of Wellington in 1992 majoring in Genetics and Ecology, and an Honours year with the University of Melbourne in 1997. Following this, she completed her PhD in the Botany Department at the University of Melbourne and worked as a Research Fellow at Latrobe University. A change in career direction in 2004 brought her to the Alfred Emergency and Trauma Centre and subsequently to DEPM. She attained her Masters Degree in Public Health in 2008.

Transfusion Medicine Specialist, Australian Red Cross Blood Service
Dr Wood is a Transfusion Medicine Specialist and Major Program Leader of Clinical Research at the Australian Red Cross Blood Service and Consultant Haematologist at Bayside/Southern Health Haematology Consortium and Honorary Consultant Haematologist at The Royal Melbourne Hospital and Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. Dr Wood has a career interest transfusion medicine.  She is a member of the World Health Organization's Expert Advisory Panel on Transfusion Medicine, and has served as a WHO regional advisor in blood safety.  She is a member of the International Society of Blood Transfusion working parties on haemovigilance and transfusion-transmissible diseases.  Dr Wood serves as the current President of the Australian and New Zealand Society of Blood Transfusion and is a member of the executive and advisory committees of the Blood Matters transfusion practice improvement collaborative (a partnership between the Victorian Department of Health and the Blood Service).  Erica is actively involved in teaching, currently serving as Associate Chief Examiner in Haematology for the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia, and on the RACP/RCPA Haematology Joint Specialist Advisory Committee.